My first brake job. Any tips?

blawson

Hi, I'm new here. Nice place y'all got going.

So I've owned this great little Accord for about a year. It's in pretty good shape, at about 67k miles in over 10 years... I inherited it from my 90 year old grandmother.

For a little while, I've been hearing some intermittent brake squeal, and, well, I turned the radio up. Last week I heard that awful grinding noise that I take to mean there's a pad shot. In retrospect, I think I drove it around for a week with it doing that, I smelled something funny a couple times - the radio must still have been up.

So I pulled the left front wheel and took a look, it looks like I've ground a bit off the outer quarter inch or so of the rotor, and I'm guessing it's time to pay for the loud stereo-playing. I can't quite tell, but either the inside pad is gone or broken (pictures at bottom).

I've never done brake work before, but I have some backup. Between us we've only ever worked on volvos and VWs. Anyone know any pitfalls or gotchas related to this car and this job? I read what other posts I could search up on brakes and rotors and I think I know what I'm getting into. Oh, and recommendations on pads/rotors and maybe a good online shop (tire rack?) would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

B

right front, inside face of rotor - dark part is smooth 'n shiny, outside is deeper and rough but not rusty.

psfbrake005nz1.th.jpg

right front brake, looking in at the inside of the rotor - looks either broken or goners:

psfbrake009cr3.th.jpg

outside face of rotor, looks fine, right?

psfbrake001yg7.th.jpg

replacing the pads and rotors isnt hard at all. pretty self explanitory, i did it myself last year. you can get a haynes manuel for your car and they have a step by step with pictures for pretty much anything you want. i have brembo rotors and pads and i like them a lot. i just did a google search for them and found the cheapest prices