HELP i feel air pressure coming out from top of valve cover?

erixpulsar

so i just got a 94 accord lx sedan. i randomly just took off the oil filling cap. (the one you twist off to put the oil in) while the car's on, and i feel air pressure coming out. is that normal? or do i have some kind of gasket or ring problem?

haven't come across that before.

i am no expert, but can i just ask why u would do that? are you stupid? lets remove a cover to a pressurized system that has hot liquids in it. next time try the radiator k?

i am no expert, but can i just ask why u would do that? are you stupid? lets remove a cover to a pressurized system that has hot liquids in it. next time try the radiator k?

i'm not an expert either, but i have had other cars. on my 90 DSM i've done that to see if the lifters and cam is lubricated sufficiently. and no pressure like that.

dont be a jacka$$.....next time try helping out a guy.

oh and i guess i dont know what happens when u take off the cover from the radiator...would u mind showing me?

harmless i bet

and this coming from a guy who drives a jeep.

look, xero is an ass, we all know that and have come to love em for it. but being a weiner to one of the regulars isnt a very quick way at getting your questions answered.

dont ever take a cover off of a pressurized system, im sure it even talks about it in your owners manual. if it didnt have pressure, then i would be worried.

Out of stupidity I once took the oil fill cap off on my 4.0 jeep (same are xeros I think). Yea, it wasn't pretty. I wouldn't take any covers off of a running vehicle if I were you. Internal pressure in the engine seems very likely to me. Lots of moving parts would cause lots of air movement too.

for one thing , its not a pressureized system , not air tight anyways. for another , it will not hurt a thing , except your clothes when little driplets hit ya , lol. i dont recommend sticking your fingers in the hole though , lol.